Richard P. Feynman

1995 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology

sponsored by the Foresight Institute

The 1995 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology was awarded to Nadrian C. Seeman.

UNISCI has an article on the Feynman Prize

A prize in the amount of $10,000 will be awarded to the researcher whose recent work has most advanced the development of molecular nanotechnology. The prize will be given at the Fourth Foresight Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology, to be held in Palo Alto, California, on November 9-11, 1995.

Submissions consist of one or more of the following:

In addition, each submission must include a one-page summary of the work and its relevance to the goal of molecular nanotechnology and/or molecular manufacturing. (If the journal article submitted has multiple authors, the applicant's role in the research must be stated.) Summaries may be up to 400 words in length.

Research areas considered relevant to molecular nanotechnology and molecular manufacturing include but are not limited to:

Both experimental and theoretical work are eligible. Special consideration will be given to submissions clearly leading toward the construction of a general-purpose molecular assembler. Applicants wishing further information on the field of the prize are referred to the book Nanosystems: Molecular Machinery, Manufacturing, and Computation (Wiley Interscience, 1992).

This prize is in honor of Richard P. Feynman who, in 1959, gave a visionary talk at Caltech in which he said "The problems of chemistry and biology can be greatly helped if our ability to see what we are doing, and to do things on an atomic level, is ultimately developed---a development which I think cannot be avoided."

The Selection Committee for the 1995 Prize includes:

Submissions should be mailed to the Foresight Institute at the postal address below, to arrive by September 1, 1995. One copy of the paper or thesis and five copies of the one-page summary are required. The summary must include the applicant's address, telephone, and (if possible) fax number and email address. Finalists may be contacted for additional information. The prizewinner must be present at the conference to accept the prize.

We would like to extend our deepest thanks to

Marc Arnold
Christopher Portman
Ted Kaehler
for the funding which has made this prize possible.

For further information, contact the Foresight Institute at P.O. Box 61058, Palo Alto, CA 94306, USA. Tel 415-324-2490, Fax 415-324-2497, Email

This page is part of the nanotechnology web site.